Hawthorne

A couple of weeks ago I got an exciting package from the folks at Knitpicks. They sent me a couple of preview skeins of their Hawthorne yarn, fingering kettle dyed and the new sport weight.

I think I’m an excellent knitter to review these yarns, mostly because they’re exactly the sort of yarn I love. First let’s talk about how they feel in the hand. These are not merino yarns, the labels say these are “fine highland wool” and I’d agree with that assessment. These yarns are softer than your basic wools (softer, for example, than wool of the andes or cascade 220) but I can tell just from the feel that they’re going to be hard wearing. Both the fingering and sport weight are 20% polyamide (that’s a type of man made fiber) which again will make these excellent sock yarns.

hawthorne sport

Next, look at the twist. These are highly twisted yarns (although not over-spun, or anything negative like that.) Both weights are made of two plies twisted back upon each other to make sproingy, cushy yarns. One of the biggest problems I had with the Stroll yarns (I used stroll sport in my Foote Brook socks) was that the plies tended to split while knitting. I don’t think I’ll have this problem with these yarns.

hawthorne kettle

Finally the colors. I’m holding Compass kettle dyed fingering and Vancouver in the multi sport yarn. Compass is a lovely golden yellow, gorgeously saturated. While Vancouver combines teals, greens, and purples in a single variegated skein. I also love that the kettle dyed yarns are made up in colors that will coordiate with the multi dyed colorways.

How will they knit up? I wish I could tell you. I took them both too my knitter’s retreat weekend, and didn’t get around to knitting either. Turns out there are only so many hours in a day. But I will get back to you and let you know once I give them a try!

(Please note that I did receive these skeins free for review purposes. However my opinions are my own, I won’t review something I don’t truly enjoy and think that you will like.)

2 responses to “Hawthorne

  1. I received a skein of the fingering weight for Christmas and as soon as I get the pair of socks currently on my needles off, Hawthorn is going on next. Beautiful colors. Knitpicks puts out good fluff.

Leave a Reply

