On the needles

I’ve started sneaking knitting back into the little corners of my life again. It’s a sign that I’m not quite as exhausted as I was when Windsor was tiny. And it means I’m back to my old habits of having multiple WIPs each for a different situation.

The travel sock.

IMG_20150330_130015_157_1

Its native habitat is the cup holder of my car. I work on this any time Neil drives or if I’m just sitting and waiting for Windsor to wake up from a car nap. It’s also available any time I go out, and find myself waiting unexpectedly without a project at hand. This particular sock is even more travel sized than usual because it’s a tiny toddler sock. Not sure if I’m following the Breamish heel again or trying a short row heel this time.

Next the meeting sweater.

IMG_20150330_130051_669_1

Its native habitat is my desk drawer at work. The stripes were perfect for knitting during monthly meetings. The cable trim is going ok. Or it was until I started the trim on the body without remembering I needed to knit the hood first. Order of operations is a classic mistake for meeting knitting. The pattern is Camden and I’m very glad I chose to start the 24 month size when I started back in December.

Finally the bedtime blanket.

IMG_20150330_191457_586_1

Its native habitat is lurking under the corner table by the couch. This mitered sock yarn blanket is perfect for finishing a mindless square or two after all my evening tasks are complete and before my own bedtime. Long (long, loooong) term readers of this blog might recognized this project. It has been in and out of hibernation more times than I can count. Cast on in 2009, this blanket turned SIX this month. My WIP is a kindergartner and it’s no where close to being done yet. At this rate it’ll make a nice retirement present for Neil (note: he graduates from grad school in May.)

Those are my three main projects, at least for now.
What is your project for the “in between” moments right now?
And do you have a WIP even older than my sock yarn blanket??

Leave a Reply

