The state of things

Spring is slowly creeping into Vermont (we had snow again this week, and there’s more in the forecast) and I realized yesterday that the only seeds I’ve started are the mixed handful that Windsor and I threw into a pot of soil two weeks ago. My garden plans are sorely limited compared to some previous years.

It’s not just living with a toddler, have I told you my current schedule? I used to work 8 hour days, and take lunch breaks online. Since maternity leave ended I’ve been working 9 hour days and taking lunch breaks with Windsor. The combination means a lot less time for everything. I miss reading other blogs, I miss digging in the garden after work, I miss many things. There’s plenty I don’t miss (I don’t really care about the dishes, or the sweeping) but all life is a balancing act. And right now I feel like by blog is as neglected as my garden.

grassy stone

Do you feel like our blog conversation is covered in weeds? I apologize! I hope you’ll stick around, because I hope to be back soon. This summer holds some big changes for the Herrick family. Neil will soon be done with grad school. We’re looking forward to him having a regular schedule, which will let my schedule level out – finally. I have some new designs that should be out this year, and someday I’ll even get some garden and chicken pictures for you!

8 responses to “The state of things

  1. Sorry you’re so busy and that the garden is being neglected. I’m expecting a baby in August and my body just isn’t as physically capable of spending much time toiling in the garden these days and the weeds are running rampant. I have managed to get quite a lot planted but the upkeep is challenging.

    • I made a point to scale back the garden the summer I was pregnant. But somehow I forgot that last year when I had an infant. This year I have great plans for how Windsor can help in the garden – but still have so little time…

      On Thu, Apr 23, 2015 at 1:03 PM, Ramblings wrote:

      >

  2. Things will sort themselves out. I’m going back to work 3 months after finishing chemo and radiation treatment and back to teaching crochet at my LYS, too. I’m going to be moving pretty slow as my body gets used to life in real-time, but it’ll happen.

    • I hope the transitions go smoothly! Remember to be easy on yourself and others will take their lead from you. My mom has had chemo more than once and both times was excited to get back to “normal” life, even when the normal version is more exhausting than it used to be.

      On Thu, Apr 23, 2015 at 4:00 PM, Ramblings wrote:

      >

  3. I subscribed to your blog a while back and look forward to your posts, whenever you have time to post something. Just do it when you have time. Life is busy, and we all know it. It boggles my mind how much you get done, so please don’t ever beat yourself up about not blogging or not gardening or not blogging about gardening. :)

    • Aww, thank you! Like so many other things in my life, I feel badly about it because blogging is something I enjoy that I miss. But I know you’re right, things will come as I have time for them.

      On Thu, Apr 23, 2015 at 5:58 PM, Ramblings wrote:

      >

  4. I’m with Karin; you do get an amazing amount accomplished—and with a full-time job. I was a stay-at-home mom when my sons were little and I still never had time for everything—no one really does. The important thing here is not the blog or us, it’s Windsor and family!

    • Thank you! yes, they are the most important thing. I’m just trying to strike a balance between the activities I used to enjoy and the fact that I enjoy my family even more!

      On Wed, Apr 29, 2015 at 10:25 PM, Ramblings wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

