Side Projects

A friend of mine has a kombucha that’s been perking along happily, and she finally felt confident to split off some of the scoby and pass it my way. We’ve just about finished drinking my first batch, and it’s really yummy! I occasionally treat myself to store bought kombucha, so I knew what I was getting into – the drink is a bit vinegary and not everyone likes it. But the home brewed stuff is much smoother, and mine is flavored with black currants, so I think it’s a bit fruitier than the commercial stuff too.

kombacha

That weird sludgy thing in the big jug is the scoby. It’s a combination of bacteria and yeast and it is what ferments the tea. After a week or so in the big jug I pour off the tea into secondary jugs and add fruit. After about 4 more days it’s ready to drink.

The great thing about this is that it’s not time consuming. Steeping more tea is much faster than brewing a batch of wine (to reference another hobby of mine that’s taken a serious back-burner these days) and if something ferments for a couple of extra days there’s no harm done.

I really enjoyed my sourdough starter one summer a couple of years back. I’m curious to see how long I can keep this going.

Have you tried any live culture sorts of kitchen projects?

2 responses to “Side Projects

  1. The men in my family do. Husband pampers his bread starter for a nice sourdough loaf and son, like you, makes kombucha, keeping the brewing temperature just so with a light bulb in an enclosed area. Son has also made decent beer! I must say I like the idea of your winemaking.

    • My husband makes beer and cider and he’ll be glad to hear that it’s possible to make kombucha and beer in the same kitchen without cross contamination!

      I like making wine, but it has been a very long time since I did it.

      On Wed, Apr 29, 2015 at 10:17 PM, Ramblings wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

