muffin challenge

We narrowly averted a breakfast crisis this weekend. We had run out of bread the day before, and the chickens have gone all sneaky and are hiding their eggs on us. Which meant that Saturday morning we had very few breakfast foods in the house.

I figured I could whip up a batch of muffins to fill the void. But it turns out that most quick bread recipes call for eggs. Flipping through my beat up copy of Joy I found just one egg free quick bread recipe – and it make beer bread. Their beer bread is dark, dense, and crumbly. It’s amazing with soup, but not really something I’d turn into breakfast muffins.

But I was working on a deadline (we were getting hungry) and I didn’t want to spend a lot of time researching. So I figured I could make it do. The flour in this recipe is half all purpose and half whole wheat. I changed that up, replacing the whole wheat portion with buckwheat. I added butter to keep things moist and fluff them up a bit. And I added raisins – because I like my breakfast muffins with fruit. I used the lightest beer we had on hand, which also happened to be a fruity flavor.

IMG_20150529_094911_042_1

These muffins were not just passable, they were GOOD. They still had that hint of yeastiness that beer bread always carries. But they were much lighter, and fruitier – which is a good thing in a muffin (probably not in a soup bread…)

IMG_20150529_094902_147_1

I felt like a breakfast hero all morning!

5 responses to “muffin challenge

  1. periwinklekarin@gmail.com

    Those look awesome! Well done! :)

  2. Hmmmm… I’m thinking it’s time for another recipe post! ;-)

    • Hmm, sounds like a good idea! I should bake them again and take some pretty close up pictures.

      On Tue, Jun 2, 2015 at 10:14 AM, Ramblings wrote:

      >

  3. Our chickens are hiding eggs recently too! Perhaps they get the urge this time of year. Rascally animals. But, hooray for being a breakfast hero! A well-improvised meal always feels fantastic.

    • If I thought they were going to nest and hatch babies I’d be less cranky. But these barred rocks have never shown any inkling of what they’re supposed to do with those hidden eggs…

      On Tue, Jun 2, 2015 at 5:47 PM, Ramblings wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

