a little stitching

We made a last minute trip to visit my relatives this weekend. And one result of packing in a rush, in a rainstorm, was that I didn’t pack any summery clothes. So of course it was a warm, summery weekend! Like many crafters before me I decided I could totally solve this problem by sewing up a little skirt for Windsor (you know, instead of just buying some shorts)

IMG_20150614_144747_432_1

This went about as well as you’d expect. Actually, maybe better – because I totally had that skirt finished for her to wear the last two hours of Sunday!

The other thing that happened is I dug through the box of clothes my mom saved from when we were all little kids. So many of these outfits had gorgeous, hand-stitched smocking. I was amazed at the general changes to little kids clothes over the last 25 years. You don’t see stuff like this commercially available anywhere, anymore.

IMG_20150614_101928_483_1

Leave a Reply

