WIP: Meristem

That’s not a typo- I actually have another meristem vest in progress right now just for me! The sample I knit for Twist is a 34″. Which isn’t a great look, since I really think this garment needs a hint of positive ease, see what I mean?

meristem me

So I’m knitting another one for me. And I’m making some changes (don’t look so shocked.) first, the yoke is knit in two colors, with the cables in some handspun from the deep stash.

IMG_20150731_075934_375_1

That coral/pink/sherbert is my handspun, the other yarns are cascade 220 sport (gray/brown) and Elisabeth Lavold silky wool (dusty rose). Both are functionally sport weight yarns, which tells you my second change: gauge. If you want to know all the tricks for working this chart in two colors please check out my Ravelry notes. The process is a bit complex…

Cabled yoke for my very own meristem vest!

But once I got past that yoke the garment has been smooth sailing. I’m knitting the 40″ size and hoping the vest will be around 38″ because of the difference in gauge. Will my plan work out? Will I have enough yardage?? Stay tuned…

2 responses to “WIP: Meristem

  1. Oooh! That yoke looks super pretty! Can’t wait to see the finished product!

  2. Gorgeous colors! And I agree completely about the ease ;)

Leave a Reply

