When I have time

When I have time to knit, these days, little things are often best. Finishing something up quickly feels like progress even when it really was just a couple of rows per evening.

The toddler socks were finished at knitting camp this summer.

IMG_20150808_105246_847_1

I ended up using leftovers from three different skeins of yarn. Once again I’m left thinking there’s no good way to keep socks on this child’s feet. These are not too tight in the leg, the instep (which I knit higher than usual) or the foot. Yet somehow they slip down any time she’s wearing them. She has very chunky feet, I might just have to wait a few years…

As if those weren’t speedy enough, I knit a coffee cup cozy next.

IMG_20150820_220951_323_1

And I’m wondering what would happen if EVERYONE got one for Christmas this year. So quick, and so satisfying.

5 responses to “When I have time

  1. And environmentally friendly, too! ;-) I was thinking of doing felted mason-jar cozies as gifts this year, and giving everyone mason jars with coffee-type lids and cozies. I’m still torn on the mason jar craze, though – I mean, yes, they’re enviro-conscious, reusable, and non-leaching, but honestly they aren’t that comfortable to hold because of their size and they don’t fit in drink holders. Maybe I’ll just do coffee cup cozies instead! :-D

    • I will say that I’ve been using a mason jug with a cap and a cozy and I do kinda love it.

      But I’ve had canning jars in my cabinet (for canning purposes) since 2005 so I figure I’m entitled to at least be smug about being ahead of the curve.

      The pints don’t fit in cup holders, but if you don’t care about the volume the tall 12oz jars do!

      On Mon, Aug 24, 2015 at 3:13 PM, Ramblings wrote:

      >

  2. Oh, and… BOOK BOOK BOOK BOOK BOOK BOOK BOOK WHERE’S THE BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOK?!?!?!?!?! (I know, I know, I sound like a crazed cyber-stalker, I’m just so excited to see the book and can hardly wait for publication!)

  3. Love both F.O’s. Out of interest, is the coffee cosy any good practically? I’ve seen a few patterns for this recently and I think I would just end up covering it in coffee…..

    • I have one I use every day. They are excellent insulators – and yes, I love it!

      They do get stuff spilled on them sometimes. It rinses out easily and then I just squeeze and lay flat to dry, it’s not a problem.

Leave a Reply

