Being careful not to twist

This is a short story about a cowl. A couple of weeks ago I needed a quick project. And since I knew my dad needs a new cowl* for Christmas that seemed like the right choice. I’ve been wanted to knit my November Guest at a much larger gauge, so I grabbed a lone skein of imperial ranch and cast on. (note: this isn’t my november guest pattern, after all)

IMG_20151102_133008833_TOP-01

The first time I cast on far too many stitches. But I knit 10 or 20 rounds to figure that out. The second time I cast on a few too many stitches, and I only knit 6 rows before I figured it out.

IMG_20151102_133213299-01

The third time I cast on just the right number of stitches. But 6 rounds in I discovered a different flaw. Know how most patterns, including mine, direct you to “join to work in the round, being careful not to twist.” Well, I missed that second half.

IMG_20151102_132829686-01

I contemplated starting over a fourth time. But by now if was Rhinebeck weekend, I was exhausted. And honestly I needed some very simple knitting. So that’s how my twisted garter stitch cowl was born. It’s squooshy and I’m considering the twist a feature.

IMG_20151102_133303566-01

*he calls them neck gaters

2 responses to “Being careful not to twist

  1. I think it turned out great! Sometimes having a twist makes a simple pattern better.

Leave a Reply

