Unexpected Cables

Unexpected Cables
Unexpected Cables: Feminine Knitted Garments Featuring Modern Cable Knitting
By Heather Zoppetti Interweave/F+W; $24.99
Heather Zoppetti is a knitwear designer, instructor, and author of Everyday Lace (Interweave, 2014). Her patterns have been published in many Interweave publications such as Knits, Knitscene, and Jane Austen Knits, and by yarn companies such as Manos del Uruguay, Baah Yarns, The Alpaca Yarn Company, Reywa Fibers, and Universal Yarns. She is also the owner and founder of Stitch Sprouts, a company dedicated to helping your stitches grow. Heather lives and teaches in Lancaster, PA, and be found at http://www.hzoppettidesigns.com and http://www.stitchsprouts.com.

I received a copy of Unexpected Cables by my good friend Heather in the mail a couple weeks ago. It’s such a pretty book I’ve been waiting and waiting for a chance to share it with you!

Cables cover

As you’re well aware, I love cables. Love love love them. So this book grabbed me right from the start. Heather does such unique and pretty things with cables. She makes things I would never think of and would love a chance to try. And that’s what is awesome about knitting – there’s always something new.

cables and lace

And this book is full of more than a few new somethings. I love this whole chapter on lace and cables. Lace is the hardest element for me to design with, but Heather makes her ideas look easy and natural.

I’ve got an interview with Heather to share today, and her lovely publishers have given me permission to share some details from one of my favorite patterns too!

Design time
1. How did you first get started designing?
I first started designing how so many other designers start…just by changing other patterns. Eventually I felt confident that I could create patterns on my own.

2. Where do you find inspiration for your designs?
I find inspiration everywhere. Sometimes it might be just a color or a tile pattern I see out and about. Other times a specific stitch pattern might call to me. I try to be observant and always on the lookout for ideas no matter where I am. To this end, I find it’s important to always carry a notebook with me so that I can jot ideas down.

3. How does designing fit in with the rest of your life? Is it a full time job, part time job, or other? If you do a different job full time, is designing at all related?
I’d call knitwear design my part-time job. My full time job is running Stitch Sprouts. For whatever reason I still feel guilty spending a whole day knitting, even if it’s for a deadline. So pulling orders, updating the website, editing, and other computer work is what occupies my workday. Luckily everything I do is yarn related in some way which makes work feel less like work.

4. Publishing a book is very exciting! Do you know what’s next for your design line?
Books are very exciting, and rewarding, as I’m sure you know having just published one yourself! Next I’m choosing to focus on expanding the pattern support for Stitch Sprouts. I’ll be developing some pamphlets, patterns, and also more class kits. Of course, I also have another book idea simmering…so that could happen too!

Downtime
1. When/If you’re going to knit just for fun what do you look for in a pattern?
I don’t really get to knit much for fun anymore. But when I do, it’s usually socks. I love making and wearing hand knit socks. For these I like to choose wild and fun yarns and just do a plain vanilla pattern to let the yarn be the star. Other patterns I might make end up being quick and easy things intended as gifts.

2. Who is your favorite designer? (or favorite pattern, if that’s easier)
Hmm, that’s a hard question. I really do love and appreciate so many designers. Right now I’m loving everything that Jared Flood is doing. Yarn, patterns, and collections, I love it all. He has an understated elegance that is both classic and modern.

3. What do you do to relax?
I like to get lost in a good story, so when I’m not knitting, reading is at the top of my list. In fact, I’ve even learned to read while knitting! Besides knitting, I enjoy other fiber arts such as spinning, and crochet and like to use these as relaxing non-work activities.


Finally, let’s explore the Stevens Vest, I love the look of circle sweaters and I have to agree with Heather that they seem to work for all body types! But rather than me rambling on some more, let’s hear from Heather:

Unexpected Cables - Stevens Vest back

Circle sweaters flatter all body types, and Stevens is no exception. This circle vest begins in the center with a shawl cast-on, which grows into a large flower medallion. Its edge features a reversible cable so there is no wrong side when the collar is folded over.

FINISHED SIZE
Back Width: About 16¾ (17¼, 18, 18¼, 19, 19¾)” (42.5 [44, 45.5, 46.5, 48.5, 50] cm). Vest shown measures 16¾” (42.5 cm).

Unexpected Cables - Stevens Vest collar

Making Reversible Cables
Cabling, while beautiful, is typically only shown on one side of the fabric. This works for most applications, however, occasionally you want to see cabling on both sides.

The cable is only viewable in the knit stitches while the purl stitches hide the crossing. To combat this, the easiest fix is to work the cable in rib. This way knit stitches are on both sides of the fabric and so we can see the crossing on both sides as well.

The cables on the outer rim of Stevens utilize these ribbed cables so when folded over at the collar, there is no wrong side.

Unexpected Cables - Stevens Vest front.jpg


(Please note that I did receive this book free for review purposes. However my opinions are my own, I won’t review something I don’t truly enjoy and think that you will like.)

Leave a Reply

