Quickie

Here’s a quick little project: more toddler mittens!

IMG_20160118_173017379-01

If you spend a little time in the knitting-mommy groups on ravelry you’ll start to hear stories about daycares (ok, probably true about any circle of people containing more than two moms). I’d heard that some daycares :::gasp::: don’t like wool mittens because they get WET. Nevermind that wool keeps you warm when wet, unlike synthetic mittens.

But, as in many other ways*, Windsor’s daycare is amazing. They have not worried once about her mittens, honestly they told me that all the toddlers mittens get wet every time they go out. I mean, this age group spends most of their time scooping up snow and shoving it in their mouths. Of course their hand-coverings get wet.

So when the monthly newsletter asked that all kids have two pairs of mittens (in case they go outside twice in a single day) I knew I needed to whip something up. These used scrap yarn and no particular pattern. She’s getting so good at putting her own mittens on that I wasn’t even begrudging about having to knit teeny-tiny thumbs.

IMG_20160118_144457704-01

In this iteration the icord has loops at the end. These loops are meant to go around the velcro closure at the sleeve cuff, hopefully this’ll make it easy to switch the pairs of mittens and she still won’t loose them. That’s the theory anyway. It’s been below 10F with windchill for a week and a half and no one has had a chance to try them out…

*they didn’t bat an eyelash when I sent her in as a baby in cloth diapers with woolen covers. That was a sign about how chill they are.

The other way they are amazing is that they take the kids outside at least once any and every day that the temperature/windchill is over 10F. I can’t imagine getting EIGHT two year olds dressed in all that gear on a daily basis.

4 responses to “Quickie

  1. Awesome job on the mittens and it’s wonderful that you have such an amazing day care. No kids here, but I do have a niece and nephew that are going to be hitting that age soon. Did you attach the icord or was it knit from the yarn? Great job alla round.

    • I’ve made a couple pairs of icord mittens and I like having it knit right into the cuff so it’s impossible to separate. For these mittens the icord is essentially an intarsia stripe knit into the cuff. In a couple other pairs I’ve used the icord as train around the bottom edge of the cuff.

  2. Mittens are one of my favorite things to knit! And the thought of little hands and fingers being kept warm in them makes me really really happy :)

  3. What a clever use of I-cord!
    I just found your blog thru Joanna at Knit Spin Farm podcast. So glad she told her viewers about you!

Leave a Reply

