Meet roam

I’m so very glad I dug this project out of deep hibernation and finished it. Roam is a lovely sweater dress. It is cozy and warm. Well designed with good shaping and supportive ribbing on all the hems.

roam tunic

My yarn is Bartlett in their heathered green Bracken colorway. It’s not the softest yarn but the crimp of the fibers makes the cables pop and helps the dress hold shape. These photos are from the end of the day and the only evidence are those creases in the front that show maybe I was sitting still too much that day.

roam tunic

In the end I don’t have many visible mods. Mainly the ribbing at the bottom hem is longer than the pattern calls for. When I cast on in 2012 I thought I was making a vest, and I un-modded those mods by adding ribbing at the bottom hem to make it tunic length again after all. In the process I decided to carry the braided cables down into the hem for visual interest.

roam tunic

I worked garter ribbing instead of standard 2×2 ribbing throughout because I wanted more drape in the cowl and hem. That 2×2 would be plenty soft in the alpaca yarn the pattern calls for, so this mod is based on the yarn I chose.

roam tunic

I now have three hand knit tunics plus one store bought sweater dress. I love them all and I find myself wondering if I can knit one more before the end of winter. Then I could live in them all week long!

roam tunic

2 responses to “Meet roam

  1. Do you hand wash them?

    • I do handwash the ones I knit when they need it. However I always wear them with another shirt underneath, so they don’t need to be washed any more often than any other handknit sweater.

Leave a Reply

