Wine mitts

Here’s a project that has been languishing for months. I picked up this gorgeous skein or aran weight merino from Periwinkle Sheep at Rhinebeck last fall.

wine mitt mug

I cast on for the mitts in late winter, and was probably done knitting them by March.

wine mitt relaxed

So why, oh why, did I wait until August to weave in the ends?!? Who knows. But they’re done, finally. I squeezed in some photos yesterday afternoon while the light was good.

wine mitt close

Two mitts, long and cozy, with slightly offset cables. I love these little cables, the bigger twists are offset by little tight twists. The hands are designed long with twisted rib cuffs that can be folded back or up over the base of my fingers.

wine mitt pair

I used almost the full skein of yarn. Fingerless mitts are my perfect one skein project.

wine mitt hero

4 responses to “Wine mitts

  1. Nice! When is the pattern coming out? I need to knit these for the festivals! And thank you for using my yarn!!!!

  2. I have a skein of yarn that would be perfect for these!

  3. I love these. Beautiful cabling :)

Leave a Reply

