Schuyler Socks

Well well well, here’s something you don’t see every day on this blog. A new knitting pattern!

hand knit sock on table with tape measure in background

This is my Schuyler Socks pattern, which of course you can find on Ravelry. Except that they were released over a year ago, and you couldn’t find them on Ravelry until yesterday evening.

See, the Schuyler Socks were designed for the BMFA Rockin’ Socks club. As a club exclusive I didn’t post photos and couldn’t upload the pattern right off the bat. But now it’s available for the whole world to download! Since I haven’t released anything else in (ahem) two years – this is a cause for celebration!

sock cuff

And these socks are the life of the party. The classic rhythm of ribbed socks gets a new look by mixing in slipped stitch patterns. The slipped stitches blend the colors of this highly variegated yarn to prevent pooling. This pattern was inspired by the toe-tapping tempos and the irresistible pulse of Broadway show-tunes.

sock foot

Seriously though, see how the colors are pooling on the bottom of the foot? These slipped stitches are magic. They mix up those colors so the whole cuff and even the instep don’t show any pooling.

Of course this colorway (Revival) was also a sock club exclusive. But that doesn’t mean you’re out of luck. The pattern will happily handle any of BMFA’s fabulous colorways with nary a hint of pooling. You know you want to give it a try!

sock side view

(And yes, I did take these photos on my kitchen table with my phone. I had a 4 week old the day this sock sample was finished and shipped out. It’s not like I had a lot of time for foot photo-shoots.)

PDF preview

2 responses to “Schuyler Socks

  1. I love the floats across the ribbed bits!

Leave a comment